Faculty Advisory Committee

The Democracy Initiative will be advised and supported by a Faculty Advisory Committee (members listed above) which meets quarterly to provide advice and counsel to the Initiative’s co-directors in furtherance of:

  • A robust research portfolio that examines interesting and important conceptual, practice and implementation questions pertaining to domestic and global democracy;
  • Innovative approaches to teaching, curriculum development and course design for students matriculating at UVA and in other learning environments;
  • Public engagement and debate that supports the Initiative’s research and problem-solving objectives, and fosters constructive public dialogue about many of the most critical issues of the day; and
  • Initiative partnerships with the non-profit, business, philanthropic and public sectors to inform every aspect of research, teaching and public engagement. 


William Antholis
Director & CEO of the Miller Center
Lawrie Balfour
Professor of Politics
Colin Bird
Associate Professor of Politics; Director of the Program in Political Philosophy, Policy and Law
Meredith Clark
Assistant Professor of Media Studies
Federico Cuatlacuatl
Professor of Digital Art
Kevin Gaines
Chair, Democracy Initiative Faculty Advisory Committee; Julian Bond Professor of Civil Rights and Social Justice
Martien Halvorson-Taylor
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Caroline Janney
John L. Nau, III, Professor in History of the American Civil War
Kelsey Johnson
Assoc. Professor of Astronomy; Director of the Echols Scholars Program
Jennifer Lawless
Commonwealth Professor of Politics
David LeBlang
Professor of Politics (Arts & Sciences); Ambassador Henry Taylor Professor of Politics (Miller Center); Professor of Public Policy (Batten School); Director of the Global Policy Center
Christian McMillen
Associate Dean for the Social Sciences; Professor of History
Stephen Mull
Vice Provost for Global Affairs
Kurtis Schaeffer
Frances Myers Ball Professor of Religious Studies
Sandip Sukhtankar
Associate Professor of Economics